Connect with us

Science

Earth closest to sun on January 2, 2020 | Tonight – EarthSky

We reach our closest point to the sun for 2021 on January 2.

Published

on

post featured image
ADVERTISEMENT

Cartoon above via Sara Zimmerman at Unearthed Comics.
Our planet Earth will reach its closest point to the sun for 2021 on January 2, at 13:51 UTC. In United States time zones, that’s January 2 at 8:51 a.m. Eastern Time, 7:51 a.m. Central Time, 6:51 a.m. Mountain Time, 5:51 a.m. Pacific Time, 4:51 a.m. Alaskan Time and 3:51 a.m. Hawaiian Time. Translate UTC to your time.
Astronomers call this celebrated point in Earth’s elliptical orbit around the sun perihelion, from the Greek roots peri mean…

Click here to view the original article.

Continue Reading
Advertisement

You might also like ...

post featured image
Earth now 2,000 light-years closer to Milky Way’s supermassive black hole – CNET
Sydney Online News
Fireball spotted in night sky over Japan – Japan Today
post featured image
PHOTO: Scientists discover a new species of a gelatinous animal in the ocean – Talk Radio 1210 WPHT